11/20/2015 10:00 AM - 01/09/2016 05:00 PM ET


Opening Reception: November 20, 6 - 8pm

With over 200 entries per show, the annual group exhibition has become a highly anticipated event for member artists and Arts Center visitors throughout the region.

Dreamscapes are forms, colors and images that an artist might see in real or imagined space. A dreamscape could be inspired by encounters with cosmic phenomena like the sky or a view of organic life glimpsed through a microscope.  It could express a psychological state of mind or emotions evoked by music. It could be a painting, drawing, collage, video, photograph, or sculpture. It is whimsical. The theme 'Dreamscapes' inspired hundreds of Westport's artists to respond with works ranging from pure abstract to landscape paintings, and from surrealist assemblages of dream-like imagery to realist renderings of contemporary dysfunction. - Alexandra Munroe

Alexandra Munroe, Ph.D., is Samsung Senior Curator, Asian Art, at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum. A pioneering authority on modern and contemporary Asian art and transnational art studies, she has led the Guggenheim’s Asian Art Initiative since its founding in 2006 while also working on the Guggenheim Abu Dhabi Museum and the Guggenheim UBS MAP Global Art Initiative. She convenes the museum’s biannual Asian Art Council, a curatorial think tank, and heads The Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation initiative in contemporary Chinese art.

Raised in Japan, Munroe is former Vice President of Japan Society, New York, and former director of its museum. She holds a BA from Sophia University, Tokyo, an MA from the Institute of Fine Arts, New York University, and a Ph.D. in History from New York University, where her research was in modern East Asian intellectual history. She serves on the advisory boards of Asia Art Archive, Hong Kong; Rockbund Art Museum, Shanghai; and UCCA, Beijing. She is a trustee of the Institute of Fine Arts, New York University, and the United States-Japan Foundation, and is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, New York.

Congratulations to the 42 Accepted Artists:

June Ahrens, Stamford, CT
Binnie Birstein, Norwalk, CT
Bevi Bullwinkel, Fairfield, CT
Eric Camiel, Danbury, CT
Gus Cantavero, Greenwich, CT
Jennifer Coyne Qudeen, Redding, CT
Amy Dolego, Easton, CT
Charles Douthat, Weston, CT
Charles Dvorak, Milford, CT
Sherry Fogel, Trumbull, CT
Rose-Marie Fox, Darien, CT
Hernan Garcia, Easton, CT
Susan Higgins, Hudson, NY
Nils Hill, Croton-on-Hudson, CT
Jessie Hughes, New Canaan, CT
Jana Ireijo, Westport, CT
Robbin Juris, Stamford, CT
David Kalman, Westport, CT
Judy Katz, Westport, CT
Ayn Kraven, Westport, CT
Liz Leggett, Westport, CT
Jim Lesko, Huntington, CT
Cheryl Levin, Bala Cynwyd, PA
Kerry Long, Trumbull, CT
Shelley Lowell, Danbury, CT
Jane Lubin, Norwalk, CT
Mary Luke, New Canaan, CT
Sandra Meagher, Rowayton, CT
Duvian Montoya, Easton, CT
Neil Needleman, Katonah, NY
Melissa Newman, Westport, CT
Ivan Ng, Baltimore, MD
Chris Plaisted, New Milford, CT
Diane Pollack, Fairfield, CT
Camilo Ramirez, Jamaica Plain, MA
Nancy Reinker, Fairfield, CT
Ken Resen, Mamroneck, NY
Rick Shaefer, Fairfield, CT
Joyce Thompson, Weston, CT
Tony Velez, Norwalk, CT
Kristina Zallinger, Hamden, CT
Wenni Zhen, Savannah, GA

NeonCRM by Neon One